• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,316 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

Double Thursday

btt button

I checked in at the Booking Through Thursday blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

What’s the last book that made you spring to your feet, eager to spread the word and tell everyone how much you enjoyed it?

Mrs Queen Takes the Train by William Kuhn. The book about Her Majesty making a journey to Edinburgh on a whim shares the same wit and humor of Alan Bennett’s The Uncommon Reader. I usually don’t purchase new hardcover but I had good feeling about Mrs Queen Takes the Train when I first saw it. I bit the bullet and took it home, saved it until my getaway weekend. I enjoyed every page of it. Having grown up in Hong Kong, which was a British colony, I always have a sentimental attachment to everything British. When the movie starring Helen Mirren came out a few years ago, I went to see it several times, saving the nuances and cadence. I always thought a novel needs to be written that would measure up to the film and your book is it!

I saw a Latin edition of “The Hobbit” last time I was at the bookstore. Do you read any foreign languages? Do you ENJOY reading in other languages?

Since I mostly peruse books in the English language, my foreign language is my native language—Chinese. There is no shortage of literature in Chinese language, especially classical and archaic texts, period and epic pieces, as well as history. I also read in Japanese but mostly periodicals.

Leave a Reply

