• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,531 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,668 other followers

Spring Forward

btt button

Clocks change this weekend here in the US, which means one less hour to read … does anybody else begrudge that hour like I do? Wish the Powers That Be would just pick a time-frame and stick to it instead of inflicting clock-driven jet lag on an innocent public twice a year?
clocks

Loss of an hour, or the spring forward, doesn’t make a difference to me. I usually change the clock Saturday evening and stick with the new time and go to bed. It’s the same strategy dealing with jetlag: you force yourself to stay awake or to go sleep in order adjust the time. On Sunday morning, I get up the usual time although now it’s really an hour earlier than usual. I walk the dog and go to my usual coffee spot where I read over coffee and breakfast. On the first day of daylight saving it’s extra quiet consider it’s a Sunday and nobody usually gets up early anyway. That is why people have brunch. I just love the uneventful, serene, and brighter morning. To quote Friedrich Nietzsche, “Early in the morning, at break of day, in all the freshness and dawn of one’s strength, to read a book—I call that vicious!” There is nowhere morning does not go. Even the gloomiest night will wear on to a morning—and I embrace it with fervor.

4 Responses

  1. I’ve always been the same way… It’s a little different now that I’ve got a kiddo who’s affected, but we tend to transition pretty well… Here’s my full BTT response!

  2. I really wish I had your attitude. I dread this time change like the plague…I don’t have enough time as it is, but then I get an hour stolen from me! Never mind I get it back later. Imagine what those poor people felt like back in the 1700’s when they changed calendars and lost like 14 days!!!

  3. You could move to Saskatchewan, they do not adhere to daylight saving time.

Leave a Reply

