• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,470 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,663 other followers

Extra: Bookstore Encounter in Asia

AsiaBooks2

In Thailand, you can find good selection of English-language books at Asia Books, a local chain with retail stores in popular areas of Bangkok. Except for the ones in Siam Paragon and Central World (two main shopping malls), most of its branches are small and stock a limited but nevertheless interesting range of fiction and general interest titles in English. I especially love their sections on Thailand and Southeast Asia, where you will find novels, history books, coffee-table books set in the region written by both foreign and local writers. Fiction wise, Thailand imports UK editions so there is a much better chance to locate paperbacks that are yet to be released in the USA. And for the same reason, the selection reflects a greater emphasis on European titles. The non-fiction is just as fulfilling. Here you will find off-the-beaten-path books about prostitution, prison tell-all, homeopathic cure. For me it’s always a great place to start when I only bring enough readings to accompany my flight to Thailand—I know I’ll always find something here. Between Asia Books and its Japanese-owned rival, Kinokuniya, which also carries titles in English language, I fill up my luggage with books to be read after I return home.
Eslite1

Eslite, the swanky new Taiwanese mega bookstore in Causeway Bay, Hong Kong does not live up to my expectation. The selection, at least in English-language books, doesn’t measure up that of Page One. Eslite boasts the ample space for readers to enjoy the books. But from my experience, while the three-storey powerhouse is packed to the rafters with almost every tome imaginable, it’s not poised to become my favorite stop to buy books. It’s more a lifestyle store than a bookstore—they have a tea shop, stationery annex, and boutique. None of the books on my list are in stock at Eslite, despite a third of its collection is in English language. Eslite also groups books in Chinese and English under the same category, which I find confusing. Eslite provides a great reading ambiance, but not necessarily the most eclectic titles. If you are looking for a place for casual, after-work reading, Eslite is not it. After all, most Hong Kongers aren’t avid readers. It’s also true that the minority who do read probably won’t go to Eslite.

5 Responses

  1. I would give my right arm for any of these stores.

    • I bet! The Thais love to read better than people in my hometown. That said, I’m delighted to see mega bookstores in Asian cities regardless of their reading culture, of the lack of it.

  2. Very cool. I always feel like I have found a golden egg if I come across English books in a foreign bookstore. There is ONE (count them…ONE) in my husband’s hometown in Poland that sells English titles. I love the fact that even though some of the titles are books sold here, the covers are different.

    • Most bookstores in Asia carry English titles. You just have to find the ones that specialize in literature and not just the airport bookstore selection. They usually carry UK editions so the covers are different. I also find books available in paperback like GONE GIRL, which is still only available in hardback back home.

  3. It’s nice you found at least one bookstore that you enjoyed. The second one you describe is not bookish enough. I always hate bookstores that stock many kinds of other items. I knew that Barnes and Noble would be going downhill when they started carrying toys in the children’s section.

Leave a Reply

