• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,066 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

Nemesis

Musing Mondays2

This week’s question:

Is there a particular book that is your nemesis—the book you’re determined to one day finish?

The Civil Disobedience portion of Walden. The God of Small Things. The Tale of Genji. The (unabridged) Moby Dick. But it won’t happen ay time soon.

9 Responses

  1. Ulysses. For some reason I have always really wanted to say I have read Ulysses. Pam

  2. I have the reverse ISsue with Walden. CivilDisobedience changed my life but I could never get through Walden.

    I know that someday I will finish Genji.

  3. There are a few books I started that I want to read so badly, but just could not get into at the time. I wouldn’t call them my nemesis, just books that I need to stick with to love. The books? One Hundred Years of Solitude and In Cold Blood. I know they are probably awesome, I just picked them up at the wrong time.

  4. Definitely Vanity Fair.

  5. The Gulag Archipelago / Solzhenitsyn.
    My bookmark is in it at about halfway and I have never finished the thing. Incidentally, I recently read Moby Dick — it’s worth reading!

  6. Midnight’s Children. I will attempt it next year.

  7. Doctor Zhivago for me. Or maybe Les Miz. And I’m just assuming that if those books you listed are your Nemesis, then they are probably mine too, I just didn’t know it.

  8. Underworld by Don Delillo.

Leave a Reply

