• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,881 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,730 other followers

Spooker

shiningnovelthe-shining

What a coincidence that The Castro Theater will be showing Kubrick’s The Shining (1980). I have started the novel three days ago and it has given my creep. Jack Torrance takes up the job to be the winter caretaker of The Overlook, a splendid hotel tugged away in the remote Colorado mountain. Jack, his wife Wendy, and the clairvoyant 5-year-old Danny move into the Overlook. The hotel has a personality in its own right, and acts as a psychic lens: it manipulates the living and the dead for its own purposes; and it magnifies the psychic powers of any living people who reside there and makes them more sensitive to its urgings. Danny has premonitions of the hotel’s danger to his family and begins seeing ghosts and frightening visions from the hotel’s past, but puts up with them in the hope that they are not dangerous in the present. This is the type of book meant to be read under the sheet with a flashlight. But I can also see myself reading it at night by the pool in Palm Springs. The movie, which seems to be a capacious spooker, is something to looking forward to.

14 Responses

  1. I’m so happy you are giving King a try. I think many dismiss him as a too popular or too much in the horror genre. In fact he’s a great writer and The Shining is one of his best. The Kubrick film is a bit of a departure from the book but will scare you to death anyway! Enjoy both the book and the movie!

  2. Very spooky movie. I don’t read King, too scary for me tho I admit he is an excellent writer.

    • The book was getting spookier as I turned the pages. I enjoyed reading parts of it under the sheet at night! That image of Jack Nicholson is burned into everyone’s mind. I’m looking forward to watching it at the local theater soon.

  3. Not everything by S King is scary but this was. I remember reading The Shining when it first came out and becoming terrified by the very slow moving topiary bushes. I can see it in my mind as though it was yesterday. Love S King.

    • I was doing a bit of research because I knew some of his books were leaning more toward sci-fi (i.e. aliens, paranormal themes). I craved a good horror story and The Shining was it! It achieved the purpose and set the bar very high. I know it’s a book that I’ll re-read for years to come.

  4. A genuinely frightening book. Hope you love it!

  5. I love this book…so “old” King but lacking the 800 extra pages he usually adds. I think you will love the movie. I know King had his issues with it, but I’ve seen it dozens of times. My dad took me to see it at the theater when I was a horror-loving 14 year old. My mom and little sister had no part of it.

    • I’m off to see the film, which will be featured at the big-screen Castro Theater after the holidays. I can’t wait! Did you hear that Stephen King made the announcement of the release of the sequel next year?

  6. King is an excellent writer. His old stuff is the best and like I said on FB, you picked a good one. The movie is totally creepy but I LOVE it.

  7. I just stumbled across your blog while bloghopping (also known as trying to look busy at work…). I’ve been looking for a book blog that is similar to my reading tastes (eclectic, but usually leaning towards literary/intellectual/foreign). I’m looking forward to reading more of your reviews and hopefully discovering some new books!

    • Thanks Kate. I consider myself an eclectic reader, steering clear of bestsellers (obviously Stephen King has been an exception). I enjoy literary novels, books that showcase fine literary flair and beautiful language.

Leave a Reply

