• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,155 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,661 other followers

Location, Location

btt button
What’s your favorite place to read? Do you have more than one? Can you read anywhere, or do you need things to be “just right?”
Bonus points for sharing a photo of your favorite spot. (grin)
Until I move into my new home, I shall find the comfort in the breakfast joints, coffee houses, and parks where I do almost all my readings. As you’ll see, all my favorite reading spots foster a tranquil atmosphere for reading. I avoid noises places where I cannot concentrate on the written words.

#1. Castro Tarts. This is my breakfast joint. The brother-and-sister team owns this run-of-the-mill place with homemade pastries, breakfast, and Vietnamese sandwiches. I spend a good hour or two here in my personal alcove to read over coffee.
#2. Cafe Flore. The corner table and the outdoor patio have seen many hours of reading here. On a warm day the tables on the sidewalk under the umbrella are perfect for bringing along the dogs.
#3. Buenavista Park. Perching on top of the Castro neighborhood, the park has a grassy patch on top of the knoll for reading. Pack a lunch, bring the dog, and sit up here with a book–it’s heaven.
#4. Anywhere by the pool is a great reading spot! Palm Springs, Russian River, Orange County, Hawaii….I’ll be off to Palm Springs this weekend for my birthday. Poolside reading time is a must!

10 Responses

  1. First off, Happy Birthday! Palm Springs is so gorgeous this time of year.

    I love to read anywhere. Seriously. As long as it’s not too noisy. I can tune out quite a bit, but obnoxious personalities with loud voices pierce me to the core.

    • Thanks Tina! The forecast says 79F-81F for the weekend and no wind. It’s going to be warm and gorgeous.

      I’m totally with you about a quiet environment for reading. I cannot concentrate when people are carrying on an ongoing conversation, let alone cellphone conversation. I’m glad to have found the couple places that have now become my hangout joints.

  2. I totally did my own post on this before I moved!!! (With pictures!)

    http://loveatfirstbook.com/2012/08/15/book-thought-places-to-read/

  3. Your reading spots are lovely. My favorite reading spot in the world has to still be Hawaii. Whether on the beach or by a nice pool, I’m quite happy to spend the entire day outside reading!

    • I miss that patio at Hanalei Bay resort, where I spend all afternoon reading. San Francisco is usually too cold to sit outside with a book, so I really treasure the time I have in sunny spots like Hawaii and Palm Springs.

  4. Happy birthday!! LOVE your reading spots. I’m very jealous. My favorite reading spot is probably the beach, on a warmish day, but my most frequent reading spot is the subway.

    • Thank you Lu! My reading spots are pretty predictable, huh? I love the sun and I love to read outside with a sip of of a drink. I also read in the subway during my commute. You’ll be surprised how much reading done during those 40 minutes everyday.🙂

  5. Happy belated birthday! I can’t read at home. I fall asleep immediately! I love to read in coffee shops and basically anywhere out of the house!

    • Thank you Marie! If I read at home, I have to turn the computer off because every once in a while I am tempted to check my Facebook. Like you I can focus in coffee shops and in the public.

Leave a Reply

