• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,321 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

Most Recent Books

Musing Mondays2

This week’s musing asks:

What is the most recent book you purchased, or brought home from the local library? What made you pick it? Have you started reading it, right away, or will you wait for a bit?

My last batch was from Half Price Books when I visited Dallas last month. Since then I haven’t acquired any more new books because my existing TBR pile is staggering and I have been trying to make a dent at it. I still have books from the trip to Los Angeles in September, at Book Soup. So the latest acquisitions on my shelf are:

Songs for the Missing Stewart O’Nan
The Descendants Kaui Hart Hemmings
Fruit of the Lemon Andrea Levy
The Light Between the Oceans M.L. Stedman

I picked all the books because of the word-of-the-mouth recommendation. The Descendants, which I’m reading at the moment, is set in Kauai, my favorite place on earth, and it deals with a middle-aged man who strives to keep his family in order when his wife, comatose after an accident, is about to be cut off life support. I have a LivingSocial coupon for Green Apple Books that I paid $15 for $30 worth of books. The voucher will expire on my birthday so I am sure there will be new books in two weeks. I was also given a $25 gift card for Books Inc. so I’ll have no shortage of allowances for new books for the holidays.

11 Responses

  1. I loved the audioversion of The Descendants. I also have the print version so I hope to read that someday too. The last book I purchased is Peace Like a River that I’m reading on my Kindle.

  2. I just finished The Light Between Oceans–and loved it!

  3. Sounds like Half-Price Books would be a dangerous place for me to shop! Enjoy your new books and future purchases!

    • They just opened a new store in Berkeley, right around my work. I have yet to visit but I know it’s a threat to my wallet. The one I went in Dallas is like their flagship store. To call it a book Costco is no exaggeration.🙂

  4. staggering TBR pile…I get that!
    which is why I try to use the library when I can.

  5. This year I minimised book purchases; ironically, it is also the year that I got the most books from publishers and friends. The newest book I have (I purchased it) on my shelf is Search Sweet Country by Kojo Laing. I wanted to jump straight into it but I’m into two other books so I have to wait.

    • I always welcome book gifts from friends, that way I don’t have to return clothing and trinkets I don’t have use for. My book purchases have upped this year due to my 100 book goal.

Leave a Reply

