• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,762 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Christie Halloween

I love the new Harper Collins trade paperback series on the Hercule Poirot Mysteries. A total of 37 titles are available and many of which I haven’t read. I picked up all that the local bookstore has in stock, which amounts to a third of this series. In light of the occasion, of course, I’ll start with Hallowe’en Party. At a Hallowe’en party, a 13-year-old girl boasted that she once witnessed a murder. When no one believes her, she storms off home. Without a few hours her body is found, still in the house—drowned in an apple-bobbing tub. Poirot is summoned to find the murderer, or the “evil presence.” Perfect for reading under the sheet with flashlight.

What are you reading this Halloween?

10 Responses

  1. This book sounds so good. Fun and good. I need it.

    • I made the mistake of starting it over breakfast this morning. I should wait until the weekend so I can be glued to the couch or wherever I am to finish this all in one sitting.

  2. eeee fun! those are beautiful editions.

  3. This is one that I haven’t read, I was wanting to this year, but I’m rereading them all in publishing order right now, and I think I’m a bit away from this one.

    • This one was published in 1961. Are you reading them by the series, like separating the Poirot and Miss Marple series? There are so many of them I need to start keeping track of what I have read and what not.

  4. I just love that cover and am afraid I would want to buy them all. It would be a shallow reason to purchase books but I can’t resist a good cover and I know Christie’s series is really great too.

    • I do, too! I have refrained from purchasing the pocket paperbacks because they are not of respectable quality. My gripe is that the print is way too close to the spine that I often break the spine altogether.

  5. I am not reading anything as fun as the Agatha Christie book. But I am enjoying Middlemarch which is my book group book. I didn’t think I’d like it but am enjoying it quite a bit. Pam

Leave a Reply

