• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,321 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

“Cover Story”

btt button
They say you can’t judge a book by its cover, but there’s no question that it can make a difference!
What book(s) have your favorite covers? Something that’s perfect for the story, the tone, the colors, the mood…
And did you pick up the book BECAUSE of the cover? Or were you going to read it anyway, and the cover was just serendipitous?


I do not judge a book by its cover, but I have a standard by which I purge. Racy covers that suggest romance are automatically out. I also prefer clean covers over anything that is too graphic and busy. Movie tie-in covers are the rudest intrusion ever done to books. Beautiful covers are like pieces of art works that capture my attention when I walk into the museum. A beautiful cover catches my eyes, but it’s what written inside that makes me take it home. An ugly cover doesn’t forecast a bad read, The House of Tomorrow is one.

4 Responses

  1. I agree with you. Sometimes I’m attracted by the cover but I hate the movie covers.

  2. Oh my Matthew, I think you were inside my head when you wrote this. I, too, much prefer clean covers. I’m immediately drawn to covers that are simple and contain earth tones. Fancy fonts don’t impress me much. Their interesting, but a Times New Roman font is fine by me. And I definitely don’t buy books in which the cover is the miniature version of the movie poster.

  3. I completely believe a cover could make or break someone picking up a book. For instance, just browsing in a bookstore, knowing nothing about the book, I am much more likely to pick up a book with an interesting cover or catchy title, than a boring or plain one. That said, there are great books with plain covers and bad books with gorgeous covers, like you said.

  4. I noticed a theme in all the covers you chosen – dark and mysterious.

Leave a Reply

