• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,661 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Review Pitches

Musing Mondays2

This week’s musing asks:

Do you have a system as to which books to read from your “requested review pile”? What is it? What about when there are too many to read in a certain time frame?

I apologize for digressing and not answering the question. I want to chime in here with my own two-cent about reviewing pitches. I almost never review ARCs and respond to review pitches unless the subject matter of the book is aligned with my interests. Many pitches sound just too good to be true and others just sound like another supermarket thriller. At one point I felt frustrated that book blogging is all about reviewing new books and ones that are not even released. I would browse through one blog after another and am dismayed that people care only about the latest releases. I’m glad that book bloggers step up to the fill the gap left behind from the diminishing coberage on books in traditional media but at the same time frustrated that an overwhelming emphasis is placed on new books. I just want to review books that appeal to me, regardless of their shelf life.

4 Responses

  1. I feel the same way, and that’s why I like reading what you write about.

  2. Agreed. I try to mix my reading as much as possible between new and old.

  3. Totally agree with you on this one. I might read a new book, but it is one I own and of my own free will on my own schedule. I rarely accept ARCs. I will OCCASIONALLY do a blog tour because the ladies at TLC know what trips my trigger, but generally I just amble aimlessly through my stacks.

  4. Here, here. I do review recent books- working as a bookseller demands that I read them- but I don’t take review requests anymore. I never do blog tours. What I strive for is reviewing new books that interest me, and other books that interest me. Blogs are more interesting to read when there’s variety!

Leave a Reply

