• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,232 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,722 other followers

Carry-Ons

btt  button

Booking Through Thursday asks:

Do you bring the book(s) you’re reading with you when you go out? How? Physically, or in an e-reader of some kind? Have your habits in this
regard changed?
(I know I carried books with me more when I was in school than I do now—I can’t read while I’m driving to work, after all.)

Absolutely. I bring a book with me everywhere I go. I won’t leave the house without one and a book is like an appendage of my body. I began reading books back to back in high school and this habit has never changed over the years. Books have kept my company at the gate, on the plane, in the coffee shop, on the beach, and anywhere I have time to spare. When I visited Los Angeles recently, I brought my copy of The Garden of Evening Mists with me to Book Soup in West Hollywood. I was planning to browse their A-Z fiction section and check out all their staff recommendation cards. Not anticipating to return to the accommodation, I carried my book with me so I could read over a glass of wine. Although I am an owner of an e-reader, I’m not keen on reading it for an extended period of time. I prefer to read the real book and turn the pages.

5 Responses

  1. It’s always great to bring a book everywhere, just in case….

    Here’s MY BTT POST

  2. My family and friends almost get worried that something is wrong if they see me somewhere without a book. My BTT:
    http://wcs53.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/booking-through-thursday-carry-ons-september-27/

  3. I always have a book too! Dysfunctional family rule growing up was “always read at the table..” I moved to the suburbs 10 years ago and miss my mass transit commute in the morning, read while waiting for bus, read while on bus, read over morning coffee and go into work completely relaxed!

  4. When I travel I must have a book. My biggest fear is I will be on a long haul overseas flight and finish my book and not have anything else to read!! Recently my husband and I bought Kindles as we had a very long overseas trek on planes and in airports and they were life savers. He is still reading all the books I put on his Kindle but now I am back to ‘ real books’ b/c we are home. If it’s a good story I don’t care what for
    mat it comes in but love book covers. Did you see the photos I put up of a gorgeously stunning book shop in Buenos aires?? Pam

    http://travellinpenguin.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/fabulous-bookshop-in-buenos-aires.html

  5. I bring a book with me everywhere I go! And If I happen to (gasp) forget, then I will download poems by Poe or an audiobook onto my iPhone!

Leave a Reply

