• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,817 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,730 other followers

Organization

btt  button

Booking Through Thursday asks:

How do you organize/store your books? Do you go through them often? Or do you pretty much just shelve them and then leave them alone until
you need them?

When I was in third grade, I started building my book collection. I dreamed of a wall full of bookshelves with books all lined up neatly. My book collection now mostly consists of fiction. I shelve the novels in alphabetical order by author’s last names. Books are like clothing—they belong to their rightful places. The new/unread books occupy a pile that demonstrates no particular order. Books are shelved properly only after they are read.

16 Responses

  1. Is that your bookshelves at home Matt? I am impressed!

  2. I love it! Looks organized and full, a book lovers dream🙂

  3. This is what I hope to have one day too🙂

  4. I love your blog and covet your library/collection. Looks wonderful!

  5. Wow, gorgeous collection! 🙂

    • Sometimes i think I’m more of a hoarders. I like to buy books that friends recommend. Some books are on the pile for so long before I get to read them. I only shelve books that I have read.

  6. That is quiet a collection! Unfortunately, my books are not that organized. I have mostly unread books on the floor. I have shelves in two rooms and they are loaded with books. I guess that’s why I am selling some of them now!

  7. We organize the same, Matt! But you have way many books than I do!😀

  8. My dream is to have a library in my home that is just there to house my books and it will have a chair where I can read. One day…

Leave a Reply

