• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,817 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,730 other followers

Discombobulation

I opened the book and started reading this morning. I was expecting a brief description of the 1833 emancipation of the slaves in British-owned Jamaica. Instead I was drawn into Charles Arrowby’s reflection in tranquility. It dawned me that I was actually reading The Sea, the Sea by Iris Murdoch, but not Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys as I had intended. I bought the wrong book—totally disconbabulated! Has this ever happened to you?

8 Responses

  1. Not to me personally, but a blogger was talking to me about The Orphan Master’s Son, which I reviewed and her comments were questionable. I felt as if we were totally on the wrong page and we were! She was discussing The Orphan Master, not the Orphan Master’s Son, which oddly enough came out close to one another.

    You got the SEA part right😉

  2. Unfortunately, yes it has and it is quite discombobulating, indeed. But at least you were reading Iris Murdock, who is always good to read.

  3. I have done this but can’t recall the titles! I’ve also bought duplicates of books I thought I didn’t own.

    So don’t feel badly!

    And, The sea, the sea is a better book, anyway.

  4. The Sea, The Sea is a wonderful book! Keep reading…

  5. I haven’t quite done this, Matt — but recently I bought Don DeLillo’s White Noise and came home to find that I already had the book, sitting on my TBR pile.
    Which means one of two things (or both):
    1) Early onset Alzheimer’s is setting in.
    2) I have too many books on my TBR pile.

  6. ooops! no, it hasn’t. but i think you’ll enjoy the murdoch and I hope you continue to read it!

  7. Haha! I love this and am very thankful to find out that I am not the only person who has done this…! 🙂

Leave a Reply

