• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,755 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Reading Notes

Musing Mondays2

This week’s musing asks:

Do you take notes while you read?

I have always taken notes. I used to pencil in on the margin until I was convinced that it’s unethical to do so. I also ran out of room and so consigned my immediate thoughts to a separate piece of paper that I slip into the pages.

A picture is better than a thousand words. On the left is my reading notes for my current read, The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst. I note the dates I read the book, along with page references and thoughts and important quotes. On the right is my journal entry for the recently-read Gold by Chris Cleave. My notes transpire into a fully developed book review in my journal.

As you see, reading notes are integral components to this book blog.

4 Responses

  1. I can’t imagine you write notes and write review for a book as well. I have no idea your final review are a production of such detailed thinking process. I salute your discipline.

  2. I love this post. I’ve always wanted to see your actual moleskine notebooks! You are so organized. Compared to you I’m a total mess. You’ve inspired me, though.🙂

Leave a Reply

