• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,328 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,661 other followers

Non-required Reading

The new annual gym membership for which I paid in full came with free Men’s Health magazine for 6 months. I haven’t been reading magazines on a regular basis since the termination of the Economist subscription. Anyone who has flipped through Economist knows how dense and demanding that publication is, which is divided into continental sections with a level of writing at least equivalent to college textbooks. It’s not the most interesting reading but at least keeps me abreast with the latest of global economy. I canceled the subscription after about two years because I wanted to get back to my reading–serious reading, instead of trying to catch up with half an issue of the Economist every weekend.

Men’s Health is something I would peruse on a regular basis because it’s not heavy reading. However, magazines like Men’s Health that feature non-time sensitive materials I think are not worthy of a subscription. In pretty much every issue you’ll find two flat abs tips, a lean muscle diet, and secrets to your girlfriend/wife’s big O (which I can skip). Information is often re-phrased and re-packaged to cater to the season like New Year’s resolution and getting the body ready for summer. That said, I do find all these tidbits of information useful and I think it’s very thoughtful of the gym to comp new members a 6-month subscription. Over lunch break I read about a deadlift workout that promotes a V-shaped torso, an article about how being bookish doesn’t mean you’re awkward and weak. The funniest of course is the ask-the-editor question on Fifty Shades of Grey.

What do you read other than books? Is it habitual or just totally random?

3 Responses

  1. Totally random; I do read some political magazines.

  2. I read Time faithfully because my local newspaper is a three-ring horror show.

  3. I liked the bit about “just because you’re bookish doesn’t mean you’re awkward & weak.”

    I buy Women’s Health, Shape, Self, and Good Housekeeping, and read a lot of the articles in those. But, I also love Timber Frame Living… mostly for the pictures & floor plans.

    Mostly, though, the “other” reading I do is book blogs, and sites like Productive Flourishing.

    ~MizB

Leave a Reply

