• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,483 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,663 other followers

Book Chatter

btt  button

Booking Through Thursday asks:

Do you like to talk about what you read? Do you have somebody to talk WITH? (Because not everybody does. I haven’t had someone to really chat about a book with since college.)

Other than my friends Rick and Karen, whom I meet for coffee and dinner, I have nobody to chat books with. Given the right circumstances and people, like a book club, I can talk about books and authors all day. Over breakfast I would read passages out loud to Rick and sometimes he reciprocates. Other than coworkers who once in a while recommends a book, I hardly discuss books with anyone. I carry a conversation of thoughts in my journal. Discussion is now taking place primarily on the blog. That is why I think book reviews are the soul to any book blog. Well-written reviews often invite discussion and promote reading. Speaking of bloggers, I’m looking forward to meeting Danielle at A Work in Progress, one of the very first book blogs I perused on a regular basis, and his sister, who are visiting San Francisco. I’m sure book chatter will ensue at our meeting over dinner this weekend.

5 Responses

  1. I’m considering doing a monthly?/biweekly?/weekly? open book chat video conference on skype. would you be interested?

  2. My best friend and I shared books and passionate discussions about them for almost 40 years. She died of cancer two years ago and I’m still trying to figure out how to read without the promise of being able to talk about each book with her. I didn’t know how much I antipated those discussions (which usually took place over a long meal) . Now I catch myself saying, Oh, I wonder how she’ll feel about that character or this development in the story. I found out recently that one of our favorite mystery authors had died and I wanted so much to talk to her about him and his books. At the same time, I am appreciating more than ever how precious, how rare, that decades-long conversation really was.

  3. I’m lucky, I have two book clubs and a lot of bookish friends and a bookish mom. And if I’m ever hard up, I can wander into a Barnes & Noble and accost someone! Ha! I’m laughing but I’ve done it.

  4. It’s good to hear you have some friends to share your thoughts with in person. I’m a big proponent of reading aloud as part of this sharing. The internet and blogs can have great scope, but for me there’s nothing like the impact and importance of sharing and discussing “live.”

  5. It is nice that you have a few friends that you can discuss books with. I have a book club with a group of my women friends but lately it seems like they are more interested in drinking wine and gossiping than discussing books and that is really annoying!

Leave a Reply

