• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,881 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,730 other followers

Branching Out

btt  button

Booking Through Thursday asks:

Name a book you love in a genre you normally don’t care for. What made you decide to read it? Did it make you want to try more in that genre?

The racy cover—that huge cleavage with the big cross pendant—of Good Christian Bitches epitomizes a book that I would not read. I wasn’t sure what genre it belongs to: chick lit, or bodice ripping romance? I don’t read neither. Had it not been for the television show, which ABC has pulled out of cowardice because it infuriated the very hypocrites it portrayed. Anyway, I enjoyed the book tremendously and it’s fairly well-written. Packed with schemes, drama, and humor, Good Christian Bitches is a social comedy and commentary. I am not left with the impression that Gatlin goes out of her way to trash Christianity. Instead she is laying out those who claim to be Christian and yet put their worldly desires above the desire to be like Christ. The book is actually well-written and entertaining. It is satirical of our self-righteousness and double standards. This is not a book that requires you to read between the lines and derive some underlying meaning, but it keeps me engrossed for an entire afternoon by the pool.

What genre do you avoid reading and why?

You can infer from my answer above that I don’t read romance, nor do I read sci-fi. I am also not a true crime type although I did enjoy In Cold Blood. I like to read literature with beautiful language–books for which you have to read between the lines.

4 Responses

  1. I usually don’t read many mysteries, but I listened to Before I Go To Sleep, because it was narrated by the fabulous Orlagh Cassidy. And I loved it!: here is my review: http://wordsandpeace.com/2011/11/21/83-before-i-go-to-sleep/

  2. No I would not have expected you to read this either, but I think it is great that you did! I think I actually chuckled, imagining you reading this in the coffee shop. Did you put a book cover on? hee hee I make a lot of statements myself, that I don’t read this type of book or that type of book, but I always find one that surprises me. Which is the best lesson for me to keep my mind open

  3. Interesting! I haven’t heard of this book or the ABC drama, but now I really want to read it. On the TBR it goes! This is not a book that I would normally read either.

  4. I liked as much as you’ll obtain carried out right here. The comic strip is tasteful, your authored material stylish. however, you command get got an impatience over that you wish be turning in the following. unwell certainly come further beforehand again since precisely the similar just about a lot steadily inside of case you shield this hike.

Leave a Reply

