• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,170 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,661 other followers

Blog Repulsions

Musing Mondays2

This week’s musing asks:

What attracts you to a book blog? What puts you off in a book blog? Do you share personal stuff on your book blog?

I’m attracted to blogs that focus on book reviews because a book blog should be about books. I keep this in mind when I blog. I spend most of the time writing detailed and thoughtful book reviews that hopefully would inspire the readers to pick up the books. Book lists always impart a welcoming touch because I cannot tell you how often I have derived ideas from book blogger’s suggestions.

While I appreciate knowing something about the person who blogs, I am put off by a deluge of personal details, especially they are not relevant to books. I generally shy away from blogs that have these attributes:
1. Advertisements: many of them, occupying the sidebars and between posts
2. Extremely loud graphics in header or background
3. Emphasis on genres that don’t interest me: sci-fi, romances, and politics
4. Digressions
5. Too many giveaways and book tours

In light of this, I only talk about myself when it’s relevant. Consider book blogs number like stars in the sky, it’s impossible to seek them all out, let alone to read and comment on them. I just hope that some readers out there would find what I blog interesting. I reiterate: a book blog should be about books—the thoughts and responses books provoke.

10 Responses

  1. Uh oh. Well, you probably shouldn’t come around my place on Sundays, Mondays or Wednesdays because I’m all over the board!!! I do like a little personal info on the blogs that I read, but bottom line is all about books. One thing that came up on another blog that answered this meme was MUSIC. If I log on and music starts up, that just ain’t gonna cut it. Drives me insane.

    • You’re safe because I know you’re all about books. I enjoy your chatters and sometimes they are comforting.🙂 You’re great in my book because I count on you for book ideas.

  2. I only post about 3 times a week and that Sunday or Friday post is usually a free for all. I somehow always mention books in it…but it can be all over the place. Like this past Sunday!

    • I enjoy reading your chit-chat because I live vicariously through reading your posts. I cannot come up with a protocol for Sunday Salon, fearing that I would just get all haywired about my life and totally spin out of focus of books.

  3. Interesting – I love blogs which write about books from a personal angle, and work book reviews into posts about their own lives. I’m hopeless at it – my blog is much more like yours, in terms of being mostly about books and not about me – but I envy those bloggers who can combine the two.

    • Ideally that is how I want to write my reviews but I tend to be over-analytical with the language and authorial meaning. I do enjoy your review style, which focuses on books and their language mechanics. I can never express my gratitude enough for pointing to me some great reads.

  4. Well, I hear what you’re saying but sometimes there are books and there are things that just have to be shared.🙂

  5. I agree with you for the most part. I do like to read funny vacation stories or if something huge has happened (like a marriage or a baby or a death) because a lot of bloggers have become friends. With that said, it should be kept to a minimum. I don’t need to see your baby every week. I’m not keeping up with his growth like you are. And I don’t need to know about your husband’s softball league or your kid’s cafeteria experience on the first day of school or your experience at church last Sunday. If you need to say something that often, you obviously need another blog, a personal blog. And if I care enough, you will see me there.

Leave a Reply

