• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,881 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,730 other followers

Reading Habits

btt  button

Booking Through Thursday asks:

Do you have a favorite season of the year that you read more? (Example: during snow storms, rainy weather, or sunny and warm weather)

My reading habit is written in stone and I rarely swerve from it. Rain or shine, scorcher or blizzard (California has no blizzard and San Francisco has neither). Summer and winter are when I read more because work is slower in between semester and I go on more weekend trips in which I either sit by the pool or get cooped up on the couch. I was just talking to a friend about how I would never travel to the cold climate because I don’t want to layer up and pack a ton of warm clothes. In summer time, the perfect getaway would be a trip to Palm Springs, Santa Monica, or Laguna Beach where I can sit on the beach chaise and read all day. In Palm Springs I would make a cosmopolitan or mojito, jump into the pool, keep my hands dry and read by the edge of the pool. I’m not a fan of sun-bathing, at least not in the scorcher. I can read by the pool on the chaise or in the pool.

Where is your favorite place to read? On the beach? Inside/outside?

In my house I like to read on my couch. I also read for an extensive period at the coffee shop in the morning. I would sit in one of the alcoves and make myself comfortable. When I go on a vacation, I almost always sit outside on the beach or by the pool to read. In Hawaii, I rent a condo so I have the privacy of my own patio that overlooks the ocean. 

2 Responses

  1. If I am on vacation I will typically read anywhere. Pool side, beach, patio or balcony. Often in bed, late at night. My day normally starts at 4am so staying up late to read is definitely restricted to vacation time.

    At home, I am typically sitting in my fave spot on the couch in the family room. Sometimes if I need space from the TV I will hit the living room couch but it’s a bit firm for me to dig in.

    • I like to be away from people when I read unless they are keep to themselves. When I went to Palm Springs, I woke up at the crack of dawn and sat by the pool with a book. I always enjoy reading in the morning. The bed is not a reading spot because I have to trouble finding and maintaining a comfortable posture.

Leave a Reply

