• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,806 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,666 other followers

Guilty Pleasure

btt  button

Booking Through Thursday asks:

What book(s) have you read that you’re secretly ashamed to admit?

I’m not ashamed of anything that I read. No one should be ashamed of what she/he has read. A few books were probably a waste of time, but never shameful. Sometimes when I go on a vacation or a weekend getaway I’m not in the mood for high-brow literature, although I did peruse Toni Morrison and Virginia Woolf all in one sitting by the pool. Never for one second am I embarrassed about reading gay novels with racy covers. I feel more embarrassed by the many books and authors I haven’t read.

8 Responses

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. I have read a whole bunch of crap, the Tiwlight novels included, but so what? Books are there to be read and there’s no point being shameful about it.

  2. Here, here! Agreed wholeheartedly.

    P.S. Have you read The Absolutist? Please, please read it soon, so we can discuss. It is…well, you’ll just have to wait and see.

  3. “I feel more embarrassed by the many books and authors I haven’t read.”

    Absolutely. My greatest shame is that I’ve never read Jane Eyre.

  4. Not ashamed to admit anything I’ve read, its all part of the reading journey, whether its the books I read because they’re totally my thing and I just know I’m going to love them or whether its reading something because millions of people are reading them and I’m curious to know why, I remember one summer when I was doing a university holiday job, a woman at work was reading a different Mills and Boons every day (in her lunch hour) and I asked to borrow a couple just to find out what intrigued people so much about them, they’re probably the same people currently devouring Fifity Shades of Grey! Curiosity satisified though, no need to go back there🙂

  5. Very ashamed of once reading (and liking) Rosamunde Pilcher. “September” was my absolute favourite when I was studying for my degree in teaching. That is the shameful bit…we had to read all the classics for our classes but I preferred, probably for that reason, to read pulp.
    But I agree with you Matt, the books you haven’t read but you need to read…no excuses whatsoever,
    Have you read anything by Hanif Kureishi by the way? “Buddha of Suburbia” is one of my favourite books…nothing shameful about it, ha!

  6. Matt, this is such an interesting question — and I answer it as you do, I am never really “ashamed” of a book I read. But sometimes I do feel as though cheated, especially if I choose a book for a vacation, and find it boring or… just not the right feel for the time.
    Along these lines, there is a book that does bother me a bit. it is Snow, by Orhan Pamuk. I was reading it exactly at the time when I went home to visit my ailing mother in hospital. At no point did I enjoy the book in the first place, yet, I kept reading it. At the hospital, whenever my mother would be sleeping — I just resumed my reading, and finished the thing on the airplane as I returned to the other end of Canada, where I live. In the interim, my mother passed away. I got the phone call just hours after returning.
    And then — I HATED the book — and gave it away. I did not want to even SEE the book, because it seemed to represent to me that precious time by my mother’s side. Reminded me of my last conversation with her. And in this sense, I was ashamed that in the sacred moments when I was in her living presence, I was diverting the down time by reading a book I never even really liked anyway.

  7. I’m not ashamed of anything I read these days. When I was younger I’d use book covers for racy covers but I couldn’t care less about ’em now!

  8. I’m smiling as I read your response because I too am much more ashamed about the books that I haven’t read than ones that I might read that others may deem silly.

Leave a Reply

