• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,316 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

Reading Goal

Musing Mondays2

This week’s musing asks:

Do you have a reading goal for the year, such as __ books? Why or why not?

At the beginning of January I set the goal to read 100 books this year. Normally I average between 65 to 80 a year, but I decided to set the bar higher for this year. This goal breaks down to 8 – 9 books per month. In May I finished 12 books and that brings the total to 48 for the year. The daily challenge is to read 100 pages, regardless of what I’m reading. Sometimes I get distracted by work or other personal reasons. Weekends I might end up reading less because of dog shows and hiking trips. I try to maintain a daily average over a month’s period at 80 to 100 pages.

2 Responses

  1. Cool! Good luck with your 100 books goal! Seems like you’re gonna make it!😀

  2. Wow, 100 books!! I can only dream of such numbers. I read an average of 35 books a year. It’s not a struggle to read. It’s a struggle to find TIME to read.
    When I think of all the books I want to read…I get in a panic, because I’m afraid I will never succeed in reading them all :o(

Leave a Reply

