• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,163 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,661 other followers

Screening

After three books in the Tales of the City series, I need to take a break. But about forty pages into The Sweet Hereafter by Russell Banks, I regretted it, because the book is so . . . good! I have this eccentric, save-the-best-for-last attitude for books. The story concerns the cultural aftershocks which tear apart a small British Columbia town in the wake of a schoolbus accident which leaves a number of local children dead. Voices of those affected ache with a reality that is fluid and authentic. The arrival of a big-city lawyer who contrives to unite the survivors to initiate a lawsuit renders a powerful morality play. This is the kind of book I prefer to pore over by the pool when I take a weekend getaway. When you are on vacation, often you want to relax, escape and unwind. But I avoid bestsellers. Over the years the experience with vacation read has been a mixed bag of reading for message, hammering drama, thriller, and plain comedy. Many have been good books, thanks to some obsessively tight scrutiny of books. Others entertaining at the moment, although a month later I wouldn’t be able to tell you the first thing about them. The perfect ones for vacation, where I devote long, uninterrupted block of time to reading, are books that I slow down at the end rather than speed up, when I savor every word, reading some of them over twice or more just to keep the book from coming to it’s end. Usually I can identify such a book after a chapter or two—then I toss it aside for later.

What about you? Do you screen for vacation reads? Are you obsessive compulsive about your vacation reads?

2 Responses

  1. […] Matthew from A Guy’s Moleskin Notebook is reading The Sweet Hereafter by Russell Banks, an author whom I have heard about but never read. The novel is about a small town which suffers a huge tragedy when a school bus is in an accident and many of the town’s children are killed. Told from many perspectives, the book explores how people need to find a reason for the unreasonable, someone to blame. I remember when there was a school bus accident in California and article after article of the aftermath as time passed. It sounds like a hard subject but the novel definitely sounds worth reading. […]

  2. I take great care in picking out my vacation reads and then often change my plans as soon as I begin my travels. I really read by my moods and I am never sure what I will feel like reading until my trip has begun. This last trip I just took to Germany on business was so exhausting that I ended up reading very little.

Leave a Reply

