• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,323 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,661 other followers

Something About Me

btt  button

A bit of catching up with Booking Through Thursday. I’ve been gone for the weekend so no book reviews. In fact, I’m reading three books at the same time: Good Christian Bitches by Kim Gatlin, Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin (can’t believe I haven’t read it), and The Family Heart: A Memoir of When Our Son Came Out by Robb Forman Dew. Since friends are visiting, the Maupin book and the many places it highlight are truly resonating.

Do you consider yourself an extrovert or an introvert?

I am a bit of both, depending on the company and situation. In a huge party I’m usually more withdrawn because I’m more comfortable with a small group of friends. So if it’s somewhere I feel comfortable, I can be extroverted. People who don’t get to know me very well assume I’m an introvert because I’m always lost in my books. In fact, I was an introvert before I discovered the pleasure of books’ company. I can be very social in the right company, talking, laughing, and cracking jokes. But there are times I need to be completely withdrawn from the company and cultivate personal space–reading a book, taking a walk, and reflecting on my own. I find that necessary to maintain this healthy balance.

Do you have siblings? Do they like to read?

I have two but neither of them, by my standard and example, is a serious reader. They would leaf through magazines, read a book every once in a while, and peruse the newspapers. By the worldly standard, they are average readers. I never force it upon them but am happy to supply recommendation when it’s sought.

Has a book ever inspired you to change anything in your life, fiction or non-fiction alike?

A handful of books have shaped my feelings, touched me and helped me get in touch with myself. Fitness for Life by Mike Roberts completely turned my life around after I launched an exercise regime to lose weight. Exercises in this book do not always require huge gym machines so it is perfect for beginners and those who do not have access to gym membership. Covering: The Hidden Assault of Civil Rights by Kenji Yoshino was one book that validated my feelings as a gay human being living in American. is a work of impartiality and sentiment. Yoshino’s argument draws deeply on his personal experiences as a gay Asian American, two immutable aspects which he battles with assimilation. He favors authenticity of self that can only be achieved with an individual’s commitment to autonomy: the freedom to elaborate one’s true self rather than to some rigid notion of what constitutes an authentic (gay) identity.

2 Responses

  1. I read several of the Maupin books ages ago and then gave them away when I was weeding my collection after I read them. Now I wish I still had them as they would be perfect reading for thinking about San Francisco. It seems there was a TV adaptation of the series as well that I watched. I’m thinking of getting the first couple again in anticipation for going there–any books set in San Francisco–I’ve been working on making a list! My sisters also read, but not nearly as much as I do either.

  2. Hi again!
    Sadly (?) to say…but I don’t have any brothers or sisters. I think that as an only child I turned to books as companions and friends.
    As to the books that changed my life. Er…”The Power of NOW” by Eckhart Tolle has had a great impact. As a professional worrier it calmed me down. To put it in to practice every single day is quite challenging though… And ‘Oracle Night’ by Paul Auster I found a great book in the sense that I started looking at coincidence(s) in a different way. The so called ‘red flags’ that sometimes appear in one’s life….
    Is there a book by the way that had a negative effect on you? Or do you put those books aside?

    Ciao!

    Fleur

Leave a Reply

