• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
    lazyhaze on Reading Kafka’s “T…
    Buried In Print on Reading Kafka’s “T…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 991,291 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,661 other followers

Slight in Size, Wickedly Funny

The King’s English Bookshop is a obviously a bookstore, in Utah, but it’s also the title of a coffee table book. I have been constructively influenced by the many lists taken out of this book. It is from this interesting category I have culled Le Divorce by Diane Johnson, a book judging by its title, cover, and popularity I would never have otherwise picked up. This list seems ideal for reading on-the-go, for in-flight reading, and for beach read.

25 Slight in Size, Sometimes Wicked, But Funny

1. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
2. Simon’s Night by Jon Hassler
3. Like Water for Chocolate by Laurel Esquivel
4. Household Saints by Francine Prose
5. Loop’s Progress by Chuck Rosenthal
6. Walking Across Egypt by Clyde Edgerton
7. The Commitments by Roddy Doyle
8. Postcards from the Edge by Carrie Fisher
9. A Far Cry from Kensington by Muriel Spark
10. Nice Work by David Lodge
11. Someone Is Killing the Great Chefs of Europe by Nan Lyons, Ivan Lyons
12. Goodbye without Leaving by Laurie Colwin
13. The Tenured Professor by John Kenneth Galraith
14. Buster Midnight’s Cafe by Sandra Dallas
15. The Queen and I by Sue Townsend
16. The Treatment by Daniel Menaker
17. Red Eye by Clyde Edgerton
18. High Fidelity by Nicholas Hornby
19. Le Divorce by Diane Johnson
20. The Traveling Horn-Player by Barbara Trapido
21. Chocolat by Joanne Harris
22. Headlong by Michael Frayn
23. Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn
24. The Clothes They Stood Up In by Allan Bennett
25. The Finishing School by Muriel Spark

I have not heard of most of the titles except High Fidelity and Like Water for Chocolate. Many of the authors, however, are familiar names, especially Muriel Spark, who has two books on the list. Judging by the title and its connotation, some of the appealing ones are Simon’s Night, A Far Cry from Kensington, The Tenured Professor, and Red Eye.

11 Responses

  1. I loooooved Like Water for Chocolate. What a great book and movie. When I was in college the movie was one of the go-to flicks for ladies’ movie night in the dorm living rooms.

  2. I have heard of several of the titles and have read two from the list. I have a few on my personal bookshelf. I really love books with lists in them of books to read!

  3. […] Slight in Size, Wickedly Funny […]

  4. I discovered The Kings English because I was reading books about bookstores one summer, but only discovered the lists at the end just before I was ready to return the book to the library (my copy was an old edition, so I’m not sure if that’s how they’re arranged in every edition). I’ve read five of these and enjoyed them all; I hope you enjoy those that you suss out and sample!

  5. I really enjoyed Excellent Women and will also put in a plug for the audio of The Clothes They Stood Up In – read by the author, and simply delightful!

    • I still have trouble locating a copy of Excellent Women. Nobody has it, not even the old lady’s garage sale down the block! The community thrift store has her other books but this one. *sigh*

  6. After reading your blog on The King’s English I ordered at the library. Picked it up yesterday. I don’t think I am going to want to give it back.Think I will need to buy it. Love those lists. I posted it up on my Library Loot of TravellinPenguin.blogspot.com.au with a reference to your blog as being the referring blogger. I know that is clearer than it sounds. cheers, Pam

    • LOL I felt the same way so I purchased a copy for myself. It’s a wonderful addition to my book collection and looks great on my coffee table. The many book lists from the book will keep me busy for months to come!

Leave a Reply

