• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    amaryllisturman on [836] The Girl on the Train…
    Andrea on [829] Inferno – Dan…
    Matthew on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Anokatony on [825] Paradise Lost -John…
    Matthew on The King’s English Books…
    Katie Marie on The King’s English Books…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 997,321 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

Book Club

Musing Mondays2

This week’s musing asks:

Do you belong to any book clubs — face-to-face, or online? If so, how long have you been with the group(s)? If not, why?

I have always dreamed to be part of one except I cannot find one that I fit in, mainly because of the lack of consistency of the book selections. It really takes a lot of effort—like a friend’s ardent egging or a strong persuasion on the part of the book itself—to convince me reading something that is outside of my comfort zone. I am not interested in any casual attempt in literature. An indie bookstore has a variety of clubs of which one in particular interests me–Classics I Forgot to Read. I shall check it out. The selections sound interesting: Wide Sargasso Sea, Swann’s Way: In Search of Lost Time, Volume 1, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie. My friend yesterday informed me about a new bookclub focused exclusively on classic literature that has stood the test of time. Their current selection is Tender is the Night. Later this month I have been invited to a book club meeting at which The Master and Margarita will be discussed.

The bottom line is, I’m not complaining as much about the book club selections as my own “homebodiness”. I don’t like to go out once I settled down at home in the evening. Maybe I should form my own club when I buy a house?

7 Responses

  1. Book clubs are tricky. Because of schedules, I find that there is huge inconsistency with who attends. It is frustrating…sometimes the person to initially recommended a book doesn’t even show up! I can also see where you might get frustrated because the selection isn’t always something that would be considered literature. Sometimes that is a good thing…gets us outside our comfort zone, and sometimes it is just very very bad!

    • You nail all my issues with book clubs. The hostess who picked the book didn’t show up for some of the meetings in the last bookclub I went (probably three years ago). The classic one that appeals to me will be reading books that I have read before and have no desire to re-read. *sigh*

  2. Judging from the titles you mentioned, this would be a book club I’d be interested in joining… but I totally understand how hard it is to go out in the evening once you’re settled. Maybe you could try it for a couple months, and reward yourself for the effort with a new book?

    • Thanks JoAnn. I was thinking how wonderful it would be to form a bookclub with all of you. I think I complain too much about going out since weather is so mild here. I’m going to try a couple of the clubs I mentioned in the post and see where they take me.

  3. I think the important thing about book clubs is that you need to enjoy each others company just as much as you desire to discuss a book. I’ve heard so many horror stories about book groups that I feel so grateful for everyone that is in mine. I’ll be waiting to see if you join a group that you enjoy…maybe you should have one at your house!

    • Years ago I came across this story about how a group of women had never stopped meeting together for over 20 years as a book club. Their families have become friends with each other. The monthly book club became a pot-luck affair with wine and dessert. They really enjoy each other’s company and talk about life other than books. What a great book club. I’m seriously considering having my own.🙂

  4. It’s always difficult to find the book club that is the right “fit” for you as a reader. My book club meets about every 8 weeks on a Friday night and I am generally tired after a long week at the office and wishing I could just go home. Good luck in your pursuit of perfect club for you and your reading tastes!

Leave a Reply

