Found Book

btt  button

Have you ever read a random book left in a waiting room or on a park bench, etc., and did you like it?

I found a copy of The End of the Affair by Graham Greene on the table of the vacation condo in Kauai. Usually guests would have left behind supermarket/pocket paperbacks behind to be shelved on the bookcase. I wondered if the Greene novel was forgotten by previous occupants of the unit. It was a welcoming deviation to the books I brought, which were LGBT fiction and history. I remembered finishing it all in one sitting at the beach. The tension that pervades the novel revokes from the interplay of doubt and faith, and Greene’s underlying message that human love and passion are inadequate for relieving suffering. The fear, insecurity, and jealousy that Bendrix uses to justify his love, which is nothing compared to what expansiveness of a love he is shown, in the end leaves him a man of unconsoled agony. This book is again fiction and literature at the best in telling a story about the irony of love.

16 Responses

  1. I love Graham Greene’s books. Great find!

    • I should read more Greene. I have read The Burnt-Out Case but that was a very long time ago. I like how he philosophizes without digressing from his story.

  2. This is the second time this week that I’ve read something about this particular book! Must mean that I should get my hands on a copy…now!

    *i had to change my email address for my gravatar because my original one won’t work- goes straight to spam, but it is still me- Staci@ Life in the Thumb!

    • Change in e-mail is totally fine. I think wordpress just requires an e-mail for you to comment. Graham Greene should be taught more in school.

  3. I loved that book, an amazing movie was also made with Julianne Moore and Ralph Fiennes.

  4. Love your post. I read half of “Under the Duvet” by Marian Keyes in a Hungarian spa. My bf and I had booked a day at a Budapest spa and while he had treatments, I was on a lounger by the pool reading. Bliss :-)

    • Sounds like a great time! Reading by the pool is the greatest joy for me when I’m on vacation. Now I’m planning the books I’ll read for the upcoming trip.

    • Thank you, you’re so sweet. Next time I go into the spa I shall bring a book with me. When I was in Thailand last year, I went during the rain season (but it turned out to be very dry and sunny), I had long stretches of reading everyday by the pool.

  5. I keep hearing about this book as well! I remember watching the 1955 film version with Deborah Kerr and wondering whether the book is any good. I haven’t read anything by Graham Greene yet so I may start with this one. Another one for the TBR pile :)

  6. What a lovely find for you. Usually the books that get left behind in a vacation rental are those that I wouldn’t be interested in reading but I would definitely have picked up the Greene to read it.

    • Exactly. I’ve seen so many pocket paperbacks left behind at the condo office where I checked in. A glance over the shelves would afford the sights of James Patterson, Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele…..Graham Greene is such a great find!

  7. I love that book so much. It positively scarred me when I read it.

    • Love is hate and hate is love. Hate multiplies upon the strength of love. What provokes this hatred is usually jealousy. The tension that pervades The End of the Affair revokes from the interplay of doubt and faith, and Greene’s underlying message that human love and passion are inadequate for relieving suffering.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 596 other followers

