• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    jrweyrich on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Diana @ Thoughts on… on [827] The Luminaries – E…
    The HKIA brings Hong… on [788] Island and Peninsula 島與半…
    Adamos on The Master and Margarita:…
    sumithra MAE on D.H. Lawrence’s Why the…
    To Kill a Mockingbir… on [35] To Kill A Mockingbird…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,095,926 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,708 other subscribers

Gratitude

btt  button

What book or author are you most thankful to have discovered?
Have you read everything they’ve written? Reread them?
Why do you appreciate them so much?

Happy Thanksgiving to all my U.S. readers and friends. If you don’t live in the U.S., have a great day as well. Before I answer this week’s question, I want to express my gratitude to awesome book bloggers who have introduced to me new authors and books. This year alone, thanks to the many tweets and comments from book bloggers, I have discovered Stewart O’Nan, whose body of works will fuel many a dark, wintry weekends to come. Hemingway is another author whose books are overdue to be read. The summer trip to Paris prompted me to read A Moveable Feast, and that it reminds me what sensory overload Paris is, even at Hemingway’s time. One of the most prominent prose stylist and story-teller I have discovered is Wallace Stegner, whose Crossing to Safety, now a One City/One Book selection at the San Francisco Public Library, is one of the best books I have read this year. Although the recent A Shooting Star doesn’t live up to my expectation in terms of the story, the writing is nonetheless contemplative, fine, and majestically quiet. I’m saving Angle of Repose and Bird Spectator for later. Hilary Mantel, William Trevor, Maggie O’Farrell, and even Truman Capote and Ayn Rand—are authors whom I read for the very first time because of book bloggers’ recommendations. I tend to spread out the works over time so it’s very rare that I’ll repeat the author within a year.

10 Responses

  1. I am in awe of the literature that you read and often think its above my cerebral understanding, but I’m going to try the Hemingway book next year. I have an O’Nan book right now that I can’t wait to read. I’ve plowed through my review books to free up some free reading time for myself. I am grateful for this wonderful community of reading friends too! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Stewart O’Nan is one of those authors that I’m always meaning to read more of – I’ve got a few of his on my shelf that look great. Maggie O’Farrell is one of my favorites. I really liked The Hand That First Held Mine, but I loved After You’d Gone. I’m with you in that I rarely repeat an author in a year. Especially my favorites, I’d rather spread out so I know I’ve got lots of good books to look forward to!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving, Matt!

  4. You might want to check out: “The World As I Found It” by Bruce Duffy. I read it in the late 1980s when it came out and I’m rereading it. Quite an amazing first novel. It’s just been reissued under the NYRB Classics series.

    I’ve never read O’Nan and will soon.

  5. Happy Thanksgiving Matt!

  6. O’Nan is terrific. When you’re exploring his work, don’t overlook the nonfiction Circus Fire — the way the author tells this true story makes full use of his literary talents and his devotion to the truth — to tracking down the full story, as best as he can after so much time has passed. Also, I must recommend the O’Nan novel that is still my favorite — Last Night at the Lobster. It strikes me as I write this how much compassion O’Nan brings to the telling of both these stories, the tragedy of the fire and the shutting down of a place of business. His sense of family – so powerful in so many of his books — is essential to both these stories.

  7. I love that Crossing to Safety is SF library’s One Book/One City selection… it may just be my all-time favorite! Will echo Molly’s recommendation of Last Night at the Lobster. So happy my book club selected it for December. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving, Matt!

  8. I was a little underwhelmed with Emily Alone, but still his writing was beautiful. I’m going to have to give some of his other works a go. My whole world changed when I became part of the book blogging community.

  9. I hardly can tell but I will name Toni Morrison.

  10. Best wishes for Thanksgiving,Matt. Here’s one more repetition of my gratitude to you for introducing me to Master and Margarita. I do enjoy reading Wallace Stegner very much, especially his short stories. I share your reservations about Shooting Star, though I did enjoy reading it, mainly because of his stylistic and formal mastery; your description is excellent. He’s one of my favorite American authors. Probably he’s best at shorter forms.

Leave a comment