• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Minnie on [367] The Rouge of the North 怨…
    travellinpenguin on [841] The Price of Salt (Carol…
    travellinpenguin on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Malissa Greenwood on Libreria Acqua Alta in Ve…
    Matthew on [839] Eileen – Ottessa…
    Matthew on Back from Hiatus
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,011,081 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,745 other followers

Favorite Picture (Children) Books

Musing Mondays2

Do you have a favourite picture book, either from your own childhood, or reading to you children?

I didn’t grow up in America so my selections would be slightly off the beaten path. Off the top of my head is James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl, which I read in third (maybe fourth) grade. It’s about a young English orphan boy who enters a gigantic, magical peach, and has a wild and surreal cross-world adventure with a group of anthropomorphic insects he meets within the giant peach. I always fantasized my being The Silkworm—just don’t ask me why! The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me has always fascinated me because I love giraffe (though I have never seen a real one). The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry is another favorite when I approached pre-teen years. The one book that always makes me fuzzy and warm is one that has drawn much controversy in the American public, And Tango Makes Three, by Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson. The book is based on the true story of Roy and Silo, two male Chinstrap Penguins in New York’s Central Park Zoo. The book follows the six years of their life where they formed a couple and were given an egg to raise. The Giving Tree is another that is written in my mind. It is a tale about a relationship between a young boy and a tree in a forest. The tree always provides the boy with what he wants: branches on which to swing, shade in which to sit, apples to eat, branches with which to build a home. It teaches me a lot of relationship.

12 Responses

  1. The Giving Tree and The Little Prince I love so much!! And I’m always pushing James and the Giant Peach to my kids but they don’t seem very interested. My fave picture books are too many (I’m addicted and collect them), but some of my fave children’s authors are Dr Seuss and Leo Lionni and James Thurber.

    • i always go back to read The Giving Tree: such a simple and yet deep story. It teaches me so much about relationship, and how unconditional love is the pillar. It always moves me to tears.

  2. Loved the Giving Tree, must put it on the read again list. Great choices.

  3. My own favourites include: The Owl Who was Afraid of the Dark by Jill Tomlinson, George’s Marvellous Medicine by Roald Dahl, The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle, The Worst Witch series by Jill Murphy and the Flat Stanley series by Jeff Brown. I

    • I forgot about George’s Marvellous Medicine. My grade school obviously was a huge fan of Raold Dahl since I almost read all his books. I’m not familiar with the other ones you mention, but would love to check them out. 🙂

  4. My favorites include “The Trumpet of the Swan”, “Charlotte’s Web” and “Stuart Little” by E.B. White, “The Wind in the Willows” by Kenneth Grahame and my all time favorite children’s book “Where the Red Fern Grows” by Wilson Rawls.

    • I didn’t realize Charlotte’s Web is a story book–I remember reading just the prose version. We’ll have to read The Wind in the Willows together. You’ve got me a copy for my birthday. 🙂 Which one make you cry again? The last book?

  5. Love Roald Dahl! Specifically Matilda and the BFG. It’s so hard for me to talk children’s books since I’m studying it right now, and I could go on and on forever. Right now I’m doing a project on David Wiesner and I’m absolutely loving his stuff!

  6. James and The Giant Peach was my book! Not just because I share a first name with the main character either. I read it and re-read it over and over until I found Watership Down. Then I read and re-read that one. I didn’t discover The Little Prince until high school, but I loved it, too.

  7. Picture books are particularly wonderful I find. Even when they’re not for children. My favourite of recent years is The Red Tree by Shaun Tan, such a visually stunning book! I also love Great Joy by Kate DiCamillo and you can’t go past Koala Lou by Mem Fox as an Australian favourite. I could read picture books all day I think. Great post!

Leave a Reply

