• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    A to Z | A Guy's Mol… on [685] The Face of a Stranger…
    Mary C. M. Phillips on [693] The Nine Tailors –…
    Matthew on [692] State of Wonder –…
    lakesidemusing on New Acquisitions
    WordsAndPeace on New Acquisitions
    WordsAndPeace on [692] State of Wonder –…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 903,707 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 732 other followers

Signs of A Book Addict

1. Book is your general outlook on life. People are cool but reading is your preferred social activity.
True. I can entertain myself reading all day, even on vacation. Friends are good but they can’t be there at my fingers like book, can they?

2. You know what a book hangover is and you have them frequently.
False. A great book would burn in my head but I know it’s time to move on to other books.

3. You plan whole afternoons around browsing bookstores.
True. Bookstore scouring is part of a reader’s life. You’ll be surprised what new authors and unheard-of books you’ll find when you randomly pore over the shelves.

4. If you go too long without buying or reading a book you feel a huge sense of withdrawal and are thinking of the next time you can get away to a bookstore or library.
True. At least one new book is acquired every week.

5. You have trouble functioning at work or school sometimes because you stayed up late reading.
False. I don’t stay up reading, nor do I read in bed. I rather wake up early and read.

6. You’re constantly sharing your favorite book quotes on social media and have either a Pinterest board or Tumblr dedicated to these quotes.
False. Not really, busy I’m usually too busy taking notes and writing down key sentences for my reviews.

7. You’re always looking forward to the weekend but mostly because you can’t wait to get 2 whole days for unadulterated alone time with a new book.
True. But I don’t devote all day reading. I would read for about 3 to 4 hours over breakfast in the morning, then head out to run errand, go workout, and come back to read more. I have to digest what I read.

8. You carry a book with you at all times because you never know when you’ll have a spare minute to do some extra reading.
True. Seriously at all times. I read when I wait for the table for brunch, wait for oil change, and yes, even when I’m at the park with my dog.

9. Your friends and family have stopped asking you what you want for Christmas or birthdays because they know you’ll always say books.
True. They also stop buying me books because I either have read them, have owned them, or don’t care for the ones they get me.

10. You take your book clubs seriously. If you show up and you haven’t read the book?
False. I don’t belong to one. I have a tough time finding one that shares my eccentric taste.

11. When you go out to dinner you find yourself wanting to gush about a book you’re reading and the characters in the story. You’ve been spending so much time with them you feel like they’ve become a part of your life just as much as anyone else.
False. I try not to be too attached to my reading when I’m out with friends.

12. You don’t mind layovers so much because you know it’s a perfect time to get in extra reading.
True. Especially when I can enjoy the comfort and amenities that an airline lounge can offer. I make myself comfortable with a book and some refreshments! A specific novel always reminds me of a trip.

13. When you travel you always bring as least two books because you’re not sure what kind of mood you’ll be in or what sort of story you’ll feel like reading.
True. I bring about 3 paperbacks in case one book doesn’t live up to my expectation or to my whim. I would pick up another one at the airport bookstore if I’m flying long-haul to say, Asia, like i do every year.

14. And if you don’t have a Kindle you just sort of assume half of your luggage will be all books.
False. I used to lug around a bag full of books. Now the convenience of an e-reader has reduced my travel load. Also I usually familiarize myself with local bookstores wherever I travel.

15. When someone talks smack about one of your favorite writers you instantly get defensive and suggest they try reading another work by them.
True. Every author deserves a second chance. So does a reader.

16. You legitimately don’t understand people who say they don’t read.
True. Yeah, how do they do with their spare time? Really?

17. When the movie version of a book comes out you’ll go see it but you know there isn’t any way the movie could be better than the book.
False. I have given up seeing the movies because they almost never measure up to the books. I had been appalled at how much of the story they left out.

18. One of your favorite things to do when arriving in a new city is to check out the local bookstores.
True. It’s the very first thing I research for after I book the flight and hotel.

19. You actually have a bookstore bucket list of amazing bookstores around the world you absolutely want and need to visit before you die.
True. To name a few: Shakespeare & Co. in Paris, King James Bookstore in Salt Lake City, The Strand in New York City, Book Soup in Los Angeles, El Ateneo in Buenos Aires, Boekhandel Selexyz Dominicanen in Maastricht, Keibunsya in Kyoto, and Hatchards in London

20. You’ve stopped lending books to friends because you know they just won’t care for the books in the way they should be cared for.
False. I’m grateful that the few friends who borrow books from me are really considerate and respectful to the books.

21. You don’t understand how people can be lonely when they have books.
True. I’ll be lonely without them.

22. You’ve skipped over entire meals or canceled plans just so you could finish a book.
True. Postpone a meeting or dinner but would not skip a meal. I have a habit to read while I eat.

23. You honestly can’t think of a better way to spend a Sunday than reading a book and drinking coffee or tea.
True. That’s the ritual. I would read about 100 pages of my current book, shift to the book section of Sunday paper, which is the New York Times, and go back to read the book.

24. You buy all your friends and family a book for Christmas.
False. I actually stop observing Christmas because of all the material madness of the season. All that ugly hording and buying really gross me out.

25. You always check out the max amount of books you can at the library and get annoyed when someone asks you if you’ll actually be able to read all of those by the due date. Hello, do you even know me?
False. I buy more than I borrow.

26. You have words from your favorite author or book tattooed on your body somewhere.
False. Hell no!

27. You buy more books even if you have a stack of books that haven’t been read yet.
True. Buying new books has nothing to do with what’s not yet to be read at home.

28. And you feel sort of guilty that you haven’t read those books yet but you will! Someday!
True. Just console yourself with the thought that a reader’s life is always work in progress.

29. Pretty much your entire apartment is filled with stacks of books.
False. Books all over the study. I try not to clutter my condo with books.

30. You sort of hate when a book is 250 pages or under because you know you’ll just end up reading it within a day or two and will have to find something else to read when it’s finished.
True. Yes I tend to read longer books with at least 250 pages. Novellas don’t usually get my attention.

31. But that’s okay because you always have at least a few emergency books you can choose from if you have nothing else to read.
True. I always have some quick reads set aside.

32. When people can’t find you they just assume you’re at a bookstore.
True. Or I’m sipping a cosmopolitan somewhere with a book.

33. You love seeing people in public with books and you’re always try and catch a peek at the title to see what they’re into.
True. While I’m eclectic in choosing my books, I’m always excited to see people reading in the public–regardless of what they are reading. It certainly made my day when I saw a girl read The Master and Margarita at the dog park.

34. When the ending of a book sucks you feel seriously betrayed by the author. I mean, how could they do this to me?
True. I’ll never forget and forgive Ann Patchett doing that to me in Bel Canto.

35. You think the only way you can truly get to know an old, used book is by smelling it. Ahh, old book smell.
True. The kids in school used to make fun of me smelling the pages of new textbooks. Rude!

36. When you find a used bookstore you get ridiculously excited. The level of excitement can sometimes trump excitement over other awesome things like pizza places, ice-cream shops, etc. Your enthusiasm for used bookstores knows no bounds.
True. Used bookstores are treasure boxes. People who own a used bookstore are usually devoted readers.

37. You take it personally when you recommend a book to a friend and 6 months later they still haven’t read it. What are they even waiting for?
False. I am not that controlling.

38. You wake up in the morning thinking about the characters in a book and wondering what will happen.
True. I just did this morning—couldn’t wait to find out what happens to Hans Castorp after his cousin left the mountain sanatorium in The Magic Mountain.

39. You own a variety of different editions of your favorite book. If you see it in a foreign bookstore or with a new cover you can’t help but want it for your collection.
True.

40. You’ve yelled at a book in public.
True. And throw one down as well.

2 Responses

  1. I said ‘yes’ on a lot of these too!

  2. […] saw this at A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook as well as Facebook ( I think) and I thought it would be fun to go through and do a true or false. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 732 other followers

