• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    condoms on [423] The Sound and the Fury…
    Nish on 50th Big Book Sale
    cebelihlembuyisa on 50th Big Book Sale
    jenn aka the picky g… on Anne Perry’s Hideous…
    Stormi D Johnson on Anne Perry’s Hideous…
    Helaine on Gold Country
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 897,103 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 710 other followers

Pre-Flight

1compass1human

The thriller streak continues as I’m packing my bags for Asia. A well-paced, nail-biting book makes long-haul (to me, 10+ hours) travel more bearable. At the wonderful Compass Books in San Francisco airport, I found all the books that will keep my company on the go. I like how the airport commission encourages local businesses like Books Inc to open retails in the terminals. How wonderful you can browse for your favorite reading materials up until you board—in a real bookstore and not just a candy store that happens to sell supermarket novels. I’m taking with me, in my hand-carry, Presumed Innocent and Innocent by Scott Turow, and The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris. This morning over breakfast I devoured over 100 pages of Human Remains by Elizabeth Haynes. The premise that decomposed bodies are found in the comforts of homes is irresistible. What a way to start a vacation. I’m trying not to read to fast because I want to save it for the lounge where I wait for the flight to Hong Kong.

2 Responses

  1. You will enjoy The Silence of the Lambs, better than the movie which I think was excellent. I used to do the flight to Hong Kong from Tampa Florida, 24 hours with connection toons and time changes. Enjoy

  2. Oh come on! Read fast! There will always be more books in Hong Kong. My family thinks I am absolutely nuts because I get wildly excited about the actual trip to Poland…at least 12 to 15 hours all told…of NOTHING BUT UNINTERRUPTED READING. Pure heaven in my book. I don’t even sleep. One year I read all the Harry Potters on a Poland trip. Anyway, I can think of nothing better than a whole bag of mystery thrillers for the ride.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 710 other followers

