• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Federica Pennacchio on The Master and Margarita:…
    boardinginmyforties on [701] False Impression –…
    IrishReader on Overlooked
    dj7o9 on Folded Book Art
    Matthew on [698] Summer Sisters – J…
    Matthew on Books That Stare Me Down
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 909,877 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 756 other followers

Monday This and That

I checked in at the Musing Mondays blog, which is the host for a weekly book meme or blogging prompt. Here is this week’s prompt:

Describe one of your reading habits. Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s). What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!

I usually don’t start a book—specially a tome—toward the end of the month knowing I cannot finish it. I was trying to fill the two remaining days of the month with a book. Stehpen King’s Carrie answered that call. It’s very fast-paced book about a shy high-school girl, who uses her newly discovered telekinetic powers to exact revenge on those who tease her. The appeal lays more in the setting than the paranormal power for me. These are high school kids and they are kids who don’t know better of the consequences. A new film adaptation starring Julienne Moore as Margaret White will release this October.

spynesspainflush

This week’s shopping spree concerns Rhys Bowen. I’m indebted to the bloggers who pointed me to Bowen’s Royal Spyness Series, after my review of Susan Elia MacNeal’s Mr. Churchill’s Secretary. Bowen’s series features a penniless twenty-something member of the extended royal family in 1930s London. The first three are now sitting on my shelf: Her Royal Spyness, A Royal Pain, Royal Flush, along with MacNeal’s sequel Princess Elizabeth’s Spy.

8 Responses

  1. and what happens if the month ends and you did not finish the book?

    Oddly, while I enjoy a creepy book (a whole other issue) I have never read anything by Mr. King.

    • Ha! I continue to read it but I just like to start off a new month with a new book. :)

      I have only read my first King recently, it was The Shining.

  2. I loved King way back in the day. I need to read his more recent works! I have the first one of Bowen’s books too. Looking forward to reading it!

    • I liked The Shining and Pet Cemetery. I have avoided him until last year. I guess I’m overwhelmed by prolific authors who have so many books under their belt.

  3. King is awesome! As for Bowen, I’ve never heard of any of those books. Hmmm. Looks like maybe I’ve found a new vice ;)

  4. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Bowen; I’ve been toying with the idea of reading her or not. I adore the Maggie Hope series – I think you’ll love Princess Elizabeth’s Spy. I had the chance to read an ARC of the third novel in the series, His Majesty’s Hope, out May 14th. SO good! You can look for the review on my blog later this week…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 756 other followers

