• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    boardinginmyforties on [701] False Impression –…
    IrishReader on Overlooked
    dj7o9 on Folded Book Art
    Matthew on [698] Summer Sisters – J…
    Matthew on Books That Stare Me Down
    shelleyrae @ Book'd… on [698] Summer Sisters – J…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 908,794 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 755 other followers

Serendipitous Browsing

SFO 1135

I made a trip to the bookstore during my lunch break. Abandoning my habit of bringing a book list, I go in without an agenda, just following my nose. A quick A-Z browse of fiction offered no eye candies. The non-fiction reading and buying binge continued. Under cultural studies I spotted yellow paperback with nondescript covered called Against Happiness by Eric G. Wilson. It’s a wicked, wise, and cheerfully misanthropic treatise that reminds me of Dear White America: Letter to a New Minority by Tim Wise. I like books that are gleefully peevish and bitingly humorous. The other one that caught my attention was Paris in Mind, a collection of essays, letters, articles, and book excerpts that captures the long and passionate relationship American (writers) have had with Paris. How can I resist? Amazing how a detour from habit, in this case browsing without a booklist, would yield unexpected result! On the way out the owner smiled and commented on what a quality time I had spent looking around the shop. “Indeed.” I said. This is the best thing about reading a book that is really a book. Browsing is as much fun as reading.

3 Responses

  1. No list is brave! I get so anxious about missing something and usually end up leaving empty-handed.

  2. That’s a wonderful way to spend your time!

  3. I love to walk into a bookstore unprepared. Even better, I go with friends, and we walk the store in a pack, commenting and recommending and egging each other on. So much fun.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 755 other followers

