• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    www.WhatFreshHellIsT… on Barnes & Noble Forbids…
    Kathleen on Barnes & Noble Forbids…
    mee on [674] The Magic Mountain…
    brokenspiners on Barnes & Noble Forbids…
    The Literarium on Barnes & Noble Forbids…
    Ryan on Barnes & Noble Forbids…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 888,425 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 676 other followers

I’m Still Here

Pattaya 045Pattaya 132

I’m still here! I have been gone for a month to Thailand and Hong Kong. During a month’s period I finished reading 8 books but I suspended blogging. I have posted some of the book reviews have have yet to attend to your comments. Now is the time to catch up with Booking Through Thursday.
btt button

INFLUENCE. Do other people influence what you choose to read? When a family member recommends something, or a friend says they hated a book you were planning to read … does it affect your reading choices?

A few people influence what I read and none of them is a family member. I’m usually nonplussed when friends say they hate a book. A reader with a somewhat eclectic and fastidious taste, I usually have good intuition on the books that are up my alley. One of my closest friends who is well-informed of my taste just recommends Snark by David Denby and Love in A Dark Time by Colm Toibin. One rages against mean-spirited humor but misses the point, the other explores how changing times affect homosexuals and their identities. I don’t have to question his recommendation, nor do I even look at the books before I put them on my list. Bookstore staff, whose written recommendations I enjoy reading, also influence my book choices.

ON LOAN. Do you lend your books? Are any out on loan right now? Do you have any that have been loaned to you? Do you put a time limit on these? Do you think people should make an effort to read the loaned book quickly?

Very rarely. I am extremely protective of my books so I loan out book only to a few people who happen to influence my reading choices. That sounds fair right? I would make recommendations instead. Books get stained, damaged, dog-eared, and on rare occasion, lost. It boils down to the trust issue, knowing that your friends will take care of the books and return them before they out-welcome the grace period.

SOUNDTRACK. Do you ever try to pair music with the book you’re reading? Play the movie soundtrack while reading the original book? Find mood music that fits with your story?

I turn on classical music: looping Haydn and Mozart, something light and instrumental. I do not like loud music, regardless of the genre, and I find instrumental music less intruding to my mind when I try to concentrate on the pages. Every once in a while I find myself in need of absolute silence to focus on a literary fiction.

WINTER. It’s the depth of winter here where I live right now … what books do you like to read when it’s snowy and white? What books do you read to evoke a real feeling of winter (good or bad)?

I don’t want to evoke the feeling of winter, in fact, I escape from it, even though I live in California with relatively mild winter! Having spent a month in Asia is difficult to get back to the cold. Season change has no influence on my reading. I read what I like to read and whatever that interests me at the moment.

3 Responses

  1. Well I have been enjoying your pictures on Facebook! I sure hope when you join us, you share some of your favorite experiences with us. I would have to agree with most of your comments above. I rarely listen to friends’ recommendations, I don’t loan many of my books, and it is rare that I want to evoke winter…I love to wear a pair of jeans and a sweater but I am over snow after about two days. With regards to music, though, I cannot listen to anything when I read.

  2. Welcome back Matt! I, like Sandy, enjoyed your pictures on FB. Looks like you had a wonderful holiday and of course I knew you would be doing plenty of reading!

  3. Sorry to digress, Matt, but that bread looks so yummy. What is on it?
    Good to have you back.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 676 other followers

