• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Ryan on A Literary Meme
    WordsAndPeace on Two Novels Set in a Grocery…
    A Literary Meme | A… on [677] Capital – John…
    Anokatony on Two Novels Set in a Grocery…
    Debbie Rodgers @Exur… on Two Novels Set in a Grocery…
    Debbie Rodgers @Exur… on Thoughts about Distraction
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 892,230 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 687 other followers

A Habit and a Book

Musing Mondays2

This week’s question:

(a) Describe one of your reading habits.
(b) Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

I have an interesting habit of saving books for later. Certain books that I heard are great I always save indefinitely until I have a moment to devote my wholesome attention. The Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner is such a book and I’m making it my first read of 2013. It remains not merely one of the greatest novels ever written about the West, but one of the finest American novels of the second half of the twentieth century. Stegner remains a staggeringly under-appreciated as a writer. He wrote in a beautiful, distinctive, gorgeous prose that not many writers have been able to match. Angle of Repose is not to be rushed: It’s a big, long, lush, slowly progressing story that weaves the distant past with the near past with the present beautifully and seamlessly.

11 Responses

  1. Interesting habit.

    Currently reading Life of Pi.

    • If your future reading pile is as big as mine it’s time you planned to move to a bigger house – unless you convert to reading e-books which I don’t care for that much. I am currently reading “Independence Day” by Richard Ford and I may well go on to his “The Lie of the Land” to complete the trilogy. Do put “The Elegance of the Hedgehog” by Muriel Barbary on your ‘to read’ list. It’s beautiful. Best for 2013, Michael

      • I enjoyed The Elegance of the Hedgehog, beautifully written without being too philosophizing. I second the recommendation. Richard Ford I have never read so I’ll have to investigate on him and put some books on my list.

        As for e-books, unless printed matter is completely compromised, e-reader will not be my primary source of reading. It strains my eyes and who needs to read another screen after staring at the computer at work all day?

  2. I have a habit of switching books every now and then. I mean, I read two or three books at the same time. And it’s crazy how I manage not to mix up the things I’ve been reading.

    I’m currently reading Dale Carnegie’s How to Enjoy Your Life and Your Job. It’s not as good as How to Win Friends and Influence People, but it does provide some useful insights.

    • I usually manage no more than two at a time. Usually one book captures my attention and that is what I bring with me to work. When I go on vacation, which is actually coming up soon, I dabble in more books, reading a few pages here and there.

  3. My habit is, with a physical book, fluttering the pages in the corners as I read. Not all the time, but sometimes.

  4. A CFO at a company I worked for pressed a copy of Angle of Repose into my hands over 17 years ago and urged me to read it. I still never have. Not having read any Stegner leaves a big hole in my reading life.

  5. Take your time with this one. It’s not to be rushed. Read a couple chapters at a time.

  6. Usually I do not learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this
    write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me.
    Thanks, very great post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 687 other followers

