• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    nike tn requin enfan… on [16] The Brothers Karamazov…
    optical character re… on [423] The Sound and the Fury…
    Lixian Ng on Impressions of Harvard Sq…
    Holly (2 Kids and Ti… on Enmity
    lakesidemusing on Enmity
    sandynawrot on Enmity
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 894,486 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 697 other followers

Partial Reading List 2013

The picture shows one of my favorite (book) stores, Just Fabulous, In Palm Springs. They stock the coolest “non-required” readings—glossy, beautiful pictorials and coffee table books. I’m excited by my upcoming trip to celebrate my birthday. I’m hoping to bring back a couple books from there. These books beg to bask on a coffee table, be enjoyed over time, and revisited; or read in the comfort of your favorite easy chair.

I mentioned in this post that it’s gratifying to know I could achieve the goal of reading 100 books a year without feeling the pressure. It just occurred to me that a new, modified goal is to read 100 pages every day. I am not a big fan of lists because when it comes to reading I’m very spontaneous. But I like to write down books that I would like to read eventually—I would have forgotten if I don’t. The books could be ones that I have saved for the right moment, like a vacation or a special weekend, or just books that I don’t feel connected at the moment. Here is the current list for 2013 (as usual, a mixed bag of new books and old classics):

Secret History Donna Tartt*
The Casual Vacancy J.K. Rowling
Angle of Repose Wallace Stegner
The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont*
The Yellow Birds Kevin Powers*
Object Lessons: The Paris Review Presents the Art of the Short Story
The Stockholm Octavo Karen Eagelmann*
Fruit of the Lemon Andrea Levy
No One is Here Except All of Us Ramona Ausubel*
Swimming Home Deborah Levy*
The Fault in Our Stars John Green*
The Red Chamber Pauline A. Chen*
Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
The Path of Minor Planets: A Novel Andrew Sean Greer
The Gift of Rain Tan Twang Eng
Wide Sargasso Sea Jean Rhys*
Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant Anne Tyler*
London Fields Martin Amis*
The Voyeur Alain Robbe-Grillet*
Divine Days Leon Forrest*

Many of the authors in the list I haven’t read(*). Many of these books are recommended by fellow book bloggers. The most intriguing one, at least for now, is London Fields by Martin Amis. A failed novelist steals a woman’s trashed diaries which reveal she’s plotting her own murder. I also want to read Doris Lessing, John Updike, Herman Hesse, Günter Grass, and, obscenely overdue, Thomas Mann.

3 Responses

  1. I love making lists, which I then seem to ignore! I tell myself every year I am not going to do one, then I come up with wonderful books. Someday I am actually going to read all the books on my ‘must read this year’ list! My problem is so many books sound good and they are always competing with each other–and then a blogger will rave about something or a library book will come available and mess up my plans! :) It’s all good, though. There seems to be lots of talk of projects and reading lists and such for 2013–maybe it isn’t too soon to start thinking ahead as well…

  2. I don’t have lists of what I’m going to read in a particular year (save for TBR Challenges — which I never accomplish — and other reading challenges), but I have a ever-expanding, giant TBR list. I’ll never, in my lifetime, get all of these books read. But like you said, I need to keep a list of them, or I’d forget that I wanted to read this or that book.

    ~MizB

  3. I love the looks of that bookstore. I’d like to have that room in my house! Happy Birthday, by the way! I’m behind in my blog reading but sure I will hear more about your fun trip to Palm Springs in future posts!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 697 other followers

