• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Travellin Penguin (P… on Scary
    Rajni on [695] Where Are the Children…
    Diane@Bibliophilebyt… on [695] Where Are the Children…
    For A Friend | Sexy… on For a Friend
    A to Z | A Guy's Mol… on [685] The Face of a Stranger…
    Mary C. M. Phillips on [693] The Nine Tailors –…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 904,808 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 735 other followers

I’ve Got Spine

I always wanted to visit Half Price Books since I heard about it from book bloggers. They do have a few retail stores in the Bay Area, but so out of the way that are beyond my reach for a city boy that I am. So during the visit to Dallas I had the delicious prospect of a day or two in Half Price Books—it’s like a pilgrim’s journey to Mecca for me. The store is a overwhelmingly huge warehouse filled with sections of shelves. SO MANY BOOKS! No matter which way you walk there are rows of shelves full of books, heavily discounted, starting at half off. I only had time to look through the fiction/literature section from A to Z, in a state of entrancement and excitement. They shelve used and new books together. So you will find books of the same title in varying condition. I was going through my mental list of authors (Stegner, O’Nan, Steinbeck, Barnes, Morrison, Yates, Miller, …) and pulling books off the shelves. In just under an hour my basket was full of books. My current read is Jonathan Coe’s The Rain Before It Falls, which I’m pretty sure a book I stumbled upon when I was reading another book—most likely The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. It’s brand new hardbound for $4.98. You can see why this place is so dangerous to my wallet! It’s a great place to get some spine, lots of spines!

3 Responses

  1. I’m a big fan of Half Price Books. There are two stores relatively close to me, and one a bit farther away. I usually put them on rotation since each story carries different titles.

    I’m happy you enjoyed your experience there! I hope to make it to the flagship store in Dallas someday.

  2. This would be a very “dangerous” book store for me to find myself in. I fear I would go home with a suitcase full of books!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 735 other followers

