• Current Reads

      Life after Life Jill McCorkle
      This Is Your Captain Speaking Jon Methven
      The Starboard Sea Amber Dermont
      Snark David Denby
      Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel
  • Popular Tags

  • Recent Reflections

  • Categories

  • Moleskine’s All-Time Favorites

  • Echoes

    Nish on Hercule Poirot
    Pam - Travellin' Pen… on Hercule Poirot
    james b chester on Few Words on Reading Habi…
    WordsAndPeace on Few Words on Reading Habi…
    Travellin Penguin (P… on Few Words on Reading Habi…
    Matthew on [706] Sharp Objects – Gi…
  • Reminiscences

  • Blog Stats

    • 913,511 hits
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 772 other followers

“Anna Karamazov”

After the frustration with Bret Easton Ellis’s Less Than Zero, I have been recommended Bright Lights, Big City by Jay McInerney, a new author to me. Upon a closer look, the book is written in second-person narrative, and it deals with decadent cycle of sex, drugs, and hustling. I think I’m done for this subject for a while, but I picked up another book by McInerney: The Good Life. It’s by no means a light and pleasant novel, but it’s got some comic moments.

“You know,” Russell said, “one of my authors—a well-known, critically acclaimed novelist—he plays golf every weekend with a bunch of doctors. One Saturday, this brain surgeon, top of his class at Johns Hopkins, he turns to him between holes and says, ‘Hey, I’m thinking about writing a novel in my spare time. Maybe you could give me a few pointers.’ My guy stops the cart and says, ‘You know, that’s a hell of a coincidence. Because I’ve always wanted to see what brain surgery is really like. Maybe you could show me the basics, help me get started.'”

“I feel the same way,” Carlo said, “when some fucking editor asks me how to make pesto.”

“I’m not trying to, like, write Anna Karamazov,” Hilary said. “It’s more commercial . . . kind of Valley of the Dolls, a girl in Hollywood kind of story.”

Anna Karamazov?

“Just stick to the West Coast,” said Nancy. “I don’t need any competition.”

“And don’t let her fuck the writer,” Jim said. “Unless she’s Polish.”

Then, about 140 pages later, back to our aspiring Hollywood-girl writer, we find out:

“I don’t want to take Hilary. What would she do at a book party? I’d have to spend an hour and a half explaining to her what a book is.”

8 Responses

  1. LMAO! With comic lines like that I think I am IN to read this book…

    • I have strong feeling that you would appreciate this book, which is very in-depth with feelings of loss, post 9/11 trauma, and how people have to re-evaluate their lives and what their relationships mean.

  2. Read Jay McInerney years ago and I remember enjoying his books. I heard that he himself had drug problem at some point of his life and he incorporates some of those drama to his novels. This one is a must-read and I can’t wait to hear what your opinion.

    • I can’t imagined not having read him all these years! I am looking for Brightness Falls in which he introduced one of his main character in The Good Life. Back-tracking. :)

  3. Hi Matt! I work for a book publisher in NYC (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) and we are interested in possibly sending you review copies for you and your website! Could you provide me with an email address to get further contact information please?

  4. But, Matt, I need an email address or mailing address to which I could send the occasional book review copy. Please email me at karmaine@gmail.com.

    Thank you!!

  5. great post. I will bookmark it! Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers

